1.) Leaving

When a pupil leaves your school, they ought to be archived. This means that the school is no longer paying for their licence and that they're no longer linked to a class. To archive students' accounts, please follow these steps:

  1. Log in to the Teacher Dashboard
  2. Go to Manage > Students
  3. Tick the names of students who are leaving the school
  4. Scroll to the top of the student list and select Archive from the Actions menu
  5. Press the Apply button

2.) Moving

When children move classes or year groups, you have two options:

2.1. Pupils can edit the class themselves

  1. Log in to the Teacher Dashboard
  2. Go to Manage > Classes
  3. In actions, select View Class Code and share this code with your class
  4. Ask your pupils to log into Doodle by pressing Class code? Click here and entering your class code when prompted
  5. Ask you students to follow the instructions provided in the app

2.2 Teachers can edit the child's class

  1. Log in to the Teacher Dashboard
  2. Go to Manage > Students
  3. Select the pupils you'd like to move classes by checking the box next to their names
  4. From Actions, select Change Class
  5. Choose the class that they're moving to and select Apply

3.) Arriving

If you're rolling out Doodle to new pupils, there are different steps to follow depending on whether you're creating a new class (3.1) or if you're adding new students to an existing class (3.2).

3.1 Creating a new class

  1. Log in to the Teacher Dashboard
  2. Select Manage > Classes
  3. Press the Add New Class button; add the new class name and its year group
  4. Contact your School Success Advisor and ask them to flip the new class to Premium
  5. Decide whether you'd like children to create their own accounts using a class code (Option 1) or whether you'd like to create their accounts for them (Option 2)

Option 1

  1. Select a class to view its class code
  2. Ask your pupils to open a Doodle app and select Class code? Click here
  3. Ask your pupils to type in the the class code, tap I need to create a Doodle account and follow the instructions in the app

Option 2

  1. Select a class and click on Add Students
  2. Create a spreadsheet with three columns: first name, surname and date of birth. Click on Check, and usernames and passwords will be created automatically. Click on Submit, and finally Confirm.
  3. A spreadsheet with each pupils' login details will be automatically downloaded. Make sure you save this somewhere secure for future reference as passwords will not be viewable on the Teacher Dashboard after students have been created.

3.2 Updating an existing class

  1. Log in to the Teacher Dashboard
  2. Choose whether you'd like children to create their own accounts using a class code (Option 1), whether you 'd like to create an account for a single child (Option 2) or whether you'd like to create new accounts for multiple children (Option 3)

Option 1

  1. Go to Manage > Classes
  2. Select the class you'd like the students to join to view the class code; share this code with these students
  3. Ask your pupils to open a Doodle app and select Class code? Click here
  4. Ask your students to type in the class code and tap I need to create a Doodle account; follow the instructions provided in the app

Option 2

  1. Select Manage > Students
  2. Click on the blue Create student account(s) button.
  3. Select Create a single student account
  4. Enter the student's details, choose a class from the drop down boxes and select Add
  5. Make a note of their username and password for your records

Option 3

  1. Select Manage > Classes
  2. Tap on the class that you'd like to add the new students to
  3. Select Add Students
  4. Create a spreadsheet with three columns: first name, surname and date of birth. Copy and paste this into the box provided. Click on Check, and usernames and passwords will be automatically created.
  5. Click on Submit, then Confirm
  6. A spreadsheet with the login details will be automatically downloaded. Make sure to save this somewhere secure for future reference as passwords will not be viewable on the Teacher Dashboard after the students have been created.

Did this answer your question?